CBE Minecraft Design Challenge Finalists Announced

Feb. 09, 2022


CBE has collaborated with Microsoft Canada and the City of Calgary to launch Level Up, Calgary! the first K-12 Minecraft: Education Edition design challenge of its kind in Canada.  This initiative was also supported by the Calgary Public Library.

More than 12,000 CBE students from all grade levels explored, created and prototyped designs in the pixelated world of Minecraft.

As part of the challenge, students accessed a custom Minecraft world, including the heart of Calgary’s downtown core rendered in Minecraft.  Students were asked to submit a design in response to the following design prompt: How might we reimagine our public spaces to enrich the lives of Calgarians and strengthen our community?

CBE is proud to announce the finalists for the 2021-22 CBE Minecraft Challenge. 

Every student demonstrated creativity, collabo​ration and problem-solving throughout this challenge. We are very proud of all participating students and teachers and have been very impressed with what you’ve built! 

The City of Calgary will announce the winners at a virtual awards ceremony streamed at calgary.ca/levelup​ at 6:00 p.m. on March 2, 2022. The ceremony will be recorded and available to view following the event.

​Division I (K-3)

Video Link - Click image to watch
West Springs SchoolJade B., Senna C., Madi C., Sophia C., Ava F., Ainsley F.. John G., Drew H., Ismael H., Finn H., Miller H., Jeffrey L., Ari L., Cameron M., Hayleigh M., Easton N., Rayya R., Amaia R., Sofiaa S., Claire S., Lyla W., Jack W.

Dr. E.W. Coffin SchoolFranco A., Kaylee C., Sammy G., Marek G., Yuna J., Rane M., Helia T., Max P., Morgan R., Taylor T., Finn V., Landon W., Joel W., Porter W., Alex Z., Graham C., Candice C., Kipling H., Rory H., Abigail K., Pierce L., Ansif R., and Max W.  
Eric Harvie SchoolEvelyn C.​


Division II (Grades 4 – 6)

Hawkwood SchoolSwasti B.​​

Simons Valley SchoolKarsten P.

Captain John Palliser SchoolPoppy P.


Division III (Grades 7 – 9)

Clarence Sansom SchoolJaden N., Araav K., Joravar S.​​

Willow Park SchoolShyloh A., Reese M.
Dr. Gordon Higgins SchoolAreeb K., Nihchal (Nick) P., Ender S., Jashanjot S.

Tom Baines SchoolArmaan P.


Division IV (Grades 10 – 12)

Centennial High SchoolTyson L., Ethan M., Andy X.​

Joane Cardinal-Schubert High SchoolXavier G.

William Aberhart High SchoolDaniyal A.